Congratulations to Cassie Sievers for her successful poster presentation at the Fall Undergraduate Research Festival! (FURF

Cassie Sievers poster presentation

Photo credit: Lecia Epping

Congratulations to Madison Mix on the 2023: AAI Young Investigator Award, Autumn Immunology Conference; and to Cassie Sievers for the Undergraduate Research Travel Award from Iowa's Office of Undergraduate Research to attend the same. 

On Tuesday 10/17/23 Pathology Research Day, Stephanie Van De Wall Ph.D. gave a short talk entitled Dynamic landscapes of protective influenza-specific CD8+ lung resident memory T cells revealed by intravital imaging.

Congratulations to our undergraduate students who were named to The Dean’s list for the fall 2023 semester at the University of Iowa. Cassie Sievers, Zach Durr, and Jack Harty are all an asset to the lab.

Dr. Harty was pleased to give the 2023 Ingraham Lecture at the Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Microbiology & Immunology. He was hosted by former postdocs Dr. Martin Richer and Dr. Nathan Schmidt

2023 Ingraham Lecture

Photo credit: Mark Kaplan

Dr. Hassert's News & views article Alt-RNAtive vaccines elicit anti-malarial TRM cells (.pdf) has been published online in Nature Immunology.

A big welcome to our newest Postdoctoral Fellow, Cori Fain! Dr. Fain joins us from the Immunology program at the Mayo Clinic, where she focused on neuro-immunology.

Congratulations to Harty Lab alumnus Ali Jabbari, MD, PhD, who has been appointed the chair and departmental executive officer of the Department of Dermatology in the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine! Details here. Dr. Jabbari's current research involves autoimmune mechanisms and immunoregulatory circuits in relation to the hair follicle.

Congratulations to Harty Lab alumnus Noah Butler, PhD, who was promoted to Full Professor in the Department of Microbiology at the University of Iowa. Check out the Butler Webpage for more details on Dr. Butler's work and associations.

New invited review: Memory CD8+ T cell-mediated protection against liver-stage malaria co-authored by Dr. Mariah Hassert and Sahaana Arumugam (Immunol Rev. 2023; 00: 1- 20)

New Paper Alert! Dr. Lisa Drewry and Dr. Stephanie van de Wall (and more)'s new paper is available online ahead of print:
CD4 T Cell-Dependent and -Independent Roles for IFN-γ in Blood-Stage Malaria in J Immunol 2023 Mar 20

Congratulations to Dr. Mitchell LeFebvre on beginning the next phase of his Medical Science Training at Yale University Dermatology!

Congratulations to Dr. Mariah Hassert on her NIH F32 Postdoctoral Fellowship

Congratulations to Dr. van de Wall and former Masters student Sequoia Crooks on the publication of their newest Cutting Edge article in JI

Dr. Lisa Drewry has started at Vir Biotechnology! The best of luck to her!

A warm welcome to our newest rotation student, Payton Kahl

Madison Mix's newest article is available online now! Click here for free access Trends in Immunology

Congratulations to Dr. Hassert on the publication of her perspective article in Frontiers in Immunology

A warm welcome to our newest MSTP student, Sahaana Arumugam!

Dr. Lisa Drewry awarded NIH F32 Postdoctoral Fellowship

Congratulations to new mom Dr. Lisa Drewry!

Congratulations to our MSTP & Immunology Graduate student Madison R. Mix as a recipient of the Graduate College Post-Comprehensive Research Fellowship for Fall 2022! 

Congratulations to our MSTP student Dr. Mitchell Lefebvre, who successfully defended his Ph.D. on Monday (12/6/21)!

Congratulations to lab alumnus Dr. Noah Butler, Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, who has been appointed to the Mark Stinski Professorship in Immunology

A big welcome to our newest Postdoc, Mariah Hassert, joining us from Saint Louis University this August!

Congratulations to our own Sequoia Crooks for her successful MS thesis defense on 7/14/21! 

Dr. Scott Anthony has also left us to join the Integrated Research Facility at National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) on the east coast. Good luck to him as well!

Dr. Stina Urban has left us to join Pfizer out on the west coast. Best of luck to her in her new career!

Dr. Lisa Drewry's newest paper is available with a free access link (through 9/3/20): RPL-6: An Achilles Needle in the Malaria Haystack?

Dr. Stina Urban's newest paper is now online ahead of print in Nature Immunology

Congratulations to our alum Dr. Martin Richer who is now a tenured Associate Professor at McGill! Check out his research here: 
Update: The Richer lab will be moving to the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at the Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis in September.

The Harty lab moved to the Department of Pathology as of May 2020. Thank you to all our former and current colleagues in Microbiology and Immunology for their support and we wish them the best of luck going forward!

Congratulations to our new postdoc Lisa Drewry on the publication of her graduate work, out in Nature Microbiology:
The secreted kinase ROP17 promotes Toxoplasma gondii dissemination by hijacking monocyte tissue migration

Dr. Samarchith Kurup left us to start his career as a faculty member in Athens at the Center for Tropical & Emerging Global Diseases at the University of Georgia. We are all sad to lose Sam, and wish him and his lovely family well!

Dr. Lisa Drewry and Dr. Stephanie van de Wall joined us in the summer of 2019 as Postdocs.  Welcome! 

Research from our lab was featured on the cover of Nature Medicine. The cover image depicts a germinal-center reaction in the spleen of a mouse infected with Plasmodium yoelii, after treatment with anti-CTLA-4. CD4+ T helper cells (green), B cells (blue), germinal-center B cells (white) and plasmablasts (red) are shown. Image credit: Dr. Samarchith P. Kurup and the University of Iowa Central Microscopy Research Facility. Artwork by Erin Dewalt.

Congratulations to Dr. Scott Anthony for being named the 2019 Lefrançois-BioLegend Award Recipient at the 2019 AAI Meeting. Established to honor the memory of AAI member Leo Lefrançois, Ph.D., this award is intended to advance the career of a trainee (graduate student or postdoctoral fellow) who attends the AAI annual meeting and presents an outstanding abstract specifically in the area of mucosal immunology. This award is generously supported by BioLegend and donations from friends and colleagues of Dr. Lefrançois.

New Review: T cell-mediated immunity to malaria

New Paper: Monocyte-Derived CD11c+ Cells Acquire Plasmodium from Hepatocytes to Prime CD8 T Cell Immunity to Liver-Stage Malaria

Congratulations to Dr. Stina Urban for being named a 2018-2019 AAI Public Policy Fellow