jump to [Research Scientists] [Graduate Students] [Undergraduate Students]

Postdoctoral Fellows

Lisa Drewry, Ph.D. (2019-2022)
Scientist I, Vir Biotechnology

Scott Anthony, Ph.D. (2015-2020)
Integrated Research Facility at National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
8200 Research Plaza Frederick, MD

Socially distant lab lunch
 Socially distant lab lunch, Scott's last day, October 2020

Stina Urban, Ph.D. (2015-2020)
Principal Scientist 
Translational Sciences, Immunopharmacology
Pfizer Inc. - La Jolla CA

Samarchith Kurup, D.V.M., Ph.D. (2014-2019)
Assistant Professor of Cellular Biology University of Georgia, Athens, GA

 Lab Photo, going away party, July 2019

Natalija Van Braeckel-Budimir, Ph.D. (2014-2018)
Director, Immunology, Janux Therapeutics, San Diego, CA

Harty Lab at Natalija's going away party
 Lab Photo, going away party, December 2018

Bram Slutter, Ph.D. (2011-2015)
Assistant Professor, Department of Biopharmaceutics, LACDR (Leiden Academics Centre for Drug Research), Leiden University.

Bram's going away party
Jessica, Jonah, Bram and John 2015

Martin Richer, Ph.D. (2010-2014)
Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, McGill University 2014-2020
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, Indiana University School of Medicine 2020-

Dr. Martin Richer and Dr. John Harty, 2014

Jeffrey Nolz, Ph.D. (2008-2013)
Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, OR

Going away party for Jeffrey Nolz, Ph.D., 2014

Simran Banga, Ph.D. (2011-2013)
Assistant Professor, School of Natural Science and Mathematics, Indiana University East, Richmond, IN

Simran 2012

Noah Butler, Ph.D. (2007-2012)
Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Iowa

Going away party for Noah Butler, Ph.D., 2012

Nathan Schmidt, Ph.D. (2006-2011)
Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, IN

Thomas Wirth, MD, Ph.D. (2006-2009) 
Dr. med. Department of Gastroenterology, Hannover Medical School, Hannover, Germany

Jodie Haring, Ph.D. (2002-2008) 
Small animal facility co-director, North Dakota State University, Fargo, ND

Kelly Messingham, Ph.D. (2001-2006) 
Research Associate Professor of Dermatology, University of Iowa

Troy Humphreys, Ph.D. (2004-2006) 
Scientist, Cell Signaling Technology, Beverly, MA

Amy R. Tvinnereim, Ph.D. (1998-2002) 
Research Assistant Professor, University of Texas, Tyler

Vladimir Badovinac, Ph.D. (1999-2001) 
Professor of Pathology, University of Iowa

Rebecca L. Wilson, Ph.D. (1995-1998) 
Staff Scientist, Siga Pharmaceuticals, Eugene OR

Vanessa B. Jensen, D.V.M. (1996-1997) 
Associate Professor of Comparative Medicine, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Tx

Research Scientists

Vladimir Badovinac, Ph.D.

Assistant Research Scientist (2002-2003) 
Associate Research Scientist (2003-2006) 
Research Scientist (2006-2007) 
Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology, University of Iowa (2007-present) 

Aaruni Khanolkar, Ph.D., MBBS

Assistant Research Scientist (2004-2009) 
Clinical Immunology Fellowship, University of Utah (2009-2012)
Director of Diagnostic Immunology and Flow Cytometry Laboratories, Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago; Assistant Professor of Pathology, Northwestern University, Chicago, IL (2012-present)

Going away party for Aaruni Khanolkar, Ph.D., 2009

Graduate Students

  • Mitchell Lefebvre, Ph.D. 2015-2021
    Mitchell and John at the defense seminar
  • Sequoia Crooks, M.S., 2/20-7/21
    Sequoia Crooks MS defense announcement
  • Katherine Doll, Ph.D., Program in Microbiology 5/11-5/16
  • Marie Kim, Ph.D., Medical Scientist Training Program 6/09-6/16
Marie 2016
  • Gabe Starbeck-Miller, Ph.D. Program in Immunology 6/08-6/14
Gabe 2014
  • Nhat-Long Pham, M.D., Ph.D. Program in Immunology 9/06-12/09
  • Ali Jabbari, M.D., Ph.D., Program in Immunology 9/02-2/06
  • Brandon Porter, M.D., Ph.D., Program in Immunology 9/00-4/05
  • Gail Corbin, Ph.D., Microbiology 4/00-2/05
  • Sara Hamilton, Ph.D., Program in Immunology 4/99-6/03
  • David Kolwyck, M.S., Microbiology 6/96-6/99
  • Douglas White M.D., Ph.D., Program in Immunology 6/95-4/99

Undergraduate Students

  • Lori Schomberg
  • Adam McNeil
  • Jayson Naegle
  • Matt Zussman
  • Michael Ellerbroek
  • Robert Moder
  • Courtney Fleenor
  • Andrea King 
  • Jacquelyn Lansing
  • Catherine Zhang
  • Anthony Kwiatkowski
  • Allie Larimer
  • Chris Cheney
  • Ian Friedman
  • Ryan Arce
  • Luke Bailey
  • Tyler Humphrey
  • Kyle Frank
  • Jeff Simkowski
  • Steven Moioffer: M.S. (Pathology, Mentor: Vladimir Badovinac)
  • Tyler Wills
  • Eric Bertroche
  • Gretchen Cleve
  • Abby Good
  • Ian McWilliams
  • Barbara Badovinac
  • Taylor Copp
  • Grace Cook
  • Carter Seely
  • Ivan Badovinac
  • Megan Lindeman
  • Tavia Dreismeier
  • Lindsey Dueling
  • Cassie Sievers