Welcome to the Laboratory of Dr. John T. Harty, Ph.D.

We are part of the University of Iowa's Department of Pathology. We are also associated with the Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Immunology, and the Cancer Center at the University of Iowa College of Medicine.

2019 research images

Career & Publication Notices

Congratulations to Dr. Harty for his selection as a 2024 Distinguished Fellow of AAI. This program annually recognizes members for distinguished careers and outstanding scientific contributions as well as their service to AAI and the immunology community. See the Pathology Department Announcement here.

Congratulations to Dr. Mariah Hassert for her latest publication in JEM: Regenerating murine CD8+ lung tissue resident memory T cells after targeted radiation exposure.

Cover of the Journal Brain for February 2024

Congratulations to Dr. Cori Fain, whose publication was selected for the February cover of Brain. The publication link is here: Discrete class I molecules on brain endothelium differentially regulate neuropathology in experimental cerebral malaria.


Cassie Sievers was awarded the prize for best poster at the 2024 Microbiology Undergraduate Poster Symposium

Here is her poster at the Spring Undergraduate Research Festival on 4/3/2024:

Cassie Sievers April 2024 Poster Session

Lisa Hancox, an integral part of the Harty Lab since 2009, is leaving us in April to join the Genome Editing Facility at the UIowa Oakdale Campus. We will miss her very much and wish her the best in her new endeavor!

For past news, career and publication announcements click here.